Crimson Trace

August 11, 2017 |
Centerfire Pistol Victory Takes Lake Country Action Shooters To 5th Title

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Wisconsin's Lake Country Action Shooters took the Junior Varsity Division title in the Centerfire Pistol event to secure the team's fifth national title during competition at the Scholastic Action Shooting Program (SASP) National Team Championships in Ohio.

The Lake Country Action Shooters were led by Dylan Lenz of Pewaukee with 70.33, followed by Jack Gerstmeier of Brookfield with 70.50, Jonathan Steffel of Delafield with 73.63 and Tarek Powell of Jefferson with 82.75. Together the team took the title with a combined time of 297.21 seconds.

Ohio's Buckeye Bullet Busters finished second with 490.99. Austin Huffman of Edgerton led the team with 85.25, followed by Weston Dick of Montpelier with 97.66, Travis Lewellen of Montpelier with 105.18 and Collin Vance of Sherwood with 202.90.

Held July 8-15 at the Cardinal Shooting Center in Marengo, Ohio, 430-plus athletes representing 19 states put over 55,000 rounds down range during eight days of competition in the sport of Speed Shooting. The format of the match has shooters facing four stages, each with five steel plates. Racing against an electronic timer, each stage is designed to test a shooter's speed and accuracy.

The Scholastic Action Shooting Program (SASP) is a youth development program in which adult coaches and other volunteers use the shooting sport of Speed Shooting to teach and to demonstrate sportsmanship, responsibility, honesty, ethics, integrity, teamwork, and other positive life skills.

Nationally, there are over 1,300 students and more than 400 coaches from 31 states participating in the Scholastic Action Shooting Program. The Scholastic Shooting Sports Foundation, Inc. (SSSF), a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization, is the National Governing Body for the Scholastic Action Shooting Program.

For more information about SASP and SSSF, visit You can also follow SASP on Facebook at or @ScholasticShootingSports on Instagram.